I’ll Never Let Go Jack, I’ll Never Let Go…

[cue: letting go]

Hello darlings!

This morning, like every morning, I woke up early to get some yoga in before work [see: watch tv]. As I was getting my channel surf/sun salutation on, I came across a diamond in the rough of morning television… A Walk to Remember. I immediately curled up on the couch with a bowl of cereal and my cat to watch Mandy Moore serenade and win over Shane West with her enchanting performance of “Only Hope”. I first saw AWTR when I was in 7th grade and my hormones were in full force. I wasn’t your typical angsty teenager, but I was in desperate need of some romance in my life. In this situation, romance came in the form of a Nicholas Sparks book-turned-feature film. 10 years later and I still choose AWTR over anything else on television.

And now, for a list [YOU KNEW IT WAS COMING]

Chick flicks I can watch over and over and I just can’t let go:

In no specific order…

#1. Steel Magnolias

Oh this movie. I first saw this movie when I was 13 [see: still needed the romance], and I was unprepared. The AMAZING cast [Sally Field, Dolly Parton, Shirley McLaine, Daryl Hannah, Olympia Dukakis, and YES that is Julia Roberts] delivers southern charm from the very beginning of the film. Roberts plays a young woman about to be married and the daughter of Fields. The movie follows Shelby [the character played by Roberts] and her journey as a newlywed and a diabetic. The rest of the women play supportive friends of the family that all come together when [SPOILER ALERT] Shelby dies. That’s right. You spend the whole movie loving young, adorable, southern Shelby, and the she dies. Just like that. For some reason I feel the need to revisit this tragedy at least once a year. Every year I cry.

 

#2. A Walk to Remember

Oh diseases. In this film Ms. Mandy Moore [alliteration?] plays Jamie, a religious high school outcast. Shane West plays the brooding, smokin’ hot bad ass Landon, who meets Jamie through court ordered community service [winner]. Although Jamie is a super nerd and wears overalls hottie McHotpants Landon falls in love with her, only to find that GASP! SHE HAS LEUKEMIA. Cue: crying for the rest of the movie. Landon spends all his time trying to make all her dreams come true before [she dies] time runs out. When I was younger I was stricken by this incredible gesture, and I wanted a Landon for my own. As an adult I realize meeting guys at their court ordered community service is less that ideal. Despite my older and wiser knowledge, I still love this movie and will watch it any time. I love the awful dialogue and the classic N. Sparks storyline [see: they fall in love].

 

#3. My Best Friend’s Wedding

Seriously, how many times and different ways do you think I can blog about this movie? I seriously seriously seriously love this movie. I know, you thought I was joking. That is why I had to reiterate how serious I am. This movie is everything I love in a movie. Julia Roberts, Gay Best Friend, Singing, Comedy, “The Way You Look Tonight”… what is not to love. When I watch this movie I can only hope the following things: that I never have a friend that drives like Cameron Diaz, that my dad is forever as nice as Cameron’s dad, that my GBF stops me from being a psycho path [that means you Clayton], and that “The Way You Look Tonight” follows me around at all times. You may notice that this is the second Julia Roberts movie on the list, SO WHAT. I love Ms. Roberts, and I could have made this list with only her movies, but I resisted.

 

#4. The Notebook

DUH!

This movie may or may not own my life. One time on vacation in the Dominican Republic, Taryn, Clayton, and I decided to skip the beach to watch The Notebook for maybe the millionth time. I first saw this movie in theaters and I had no idea what it was about. I had just broken up with my bf at the time and my Gay BFFL took me to see that [GREAT CHOICE CLAYTON]. After crying my eyes out, I knew that this movie would be a staple in my life. I like crying, SO WHAT. The most epic part of this movie was that they were a couple in REAL LIFE! My heart literally broke into a million pieces when they broke up. I watched an old interview with him recently and he said something along the lines of “People always think Rachel and I are like the couple in the movie, and frankly it is insulting. We are way more romantic in real life”. THEN DO THE WORLD A FAVOR AND GET BACK TOGETHER.

 

#5. Titanic

Oh the original.

I begged my mother to let me see this movie for years.  Given that I was only in 4th grade when it came out, I was met with some resistance. FINALLY she gave in, with one stipulation: I had to watch it with my dad. ‘No big deal’ I thought, little did I know I would be sitting through a sweaty sex scene next to my father. Awkward. In high school my friends and I used to leave parties early, race home together, snuggle up in bed and turn on Titanic. Every weekend. I KNOW RIGHT WE WERE SO COOL. Leo’s charm won me over in this movie, and to this day when I watch it I get very upset that annoying Rose lives, and lovely Jack sinks to the bottom of the ocean. There was definitely room for both of them on that floating mantle. Greedy hobag.

So these are mine, what are the chick flicks you can’t live without!?

-A

Leave a Reply

